Paul Roth

Well, what kind of composer or entertainer would I be if I didn’t promote my own work? Here’s a brief bio and a couple of audio links.

I was born on December 15, 1956 and I am originally from Brooklyn, New York. I grew up on Long Island and like many who pursue the arts, I moved to Manhattan when I turned 23 years old. Well known pianist Steve Ross had decided to leave his position at Ted Hook’s, Backstage, the number one piano club in the country at the time. My publicist heard of the change and was able to get Ted Hook to schedule an audition for me. After playing and singing a few songs, Ted approached me and asked if I would like the full entertainment schedule at the club. I of course agreed and within a week, I was performing 6 nights a week at Backstage. It wasn’t long before I started mingling with the many celebrities that frequented the club. Among those I became friends with were; Liza Minelli, Chita Rivera, Rose Mary Clooney, Ruth Warrick, Margaret Whiting, Jerry Herman, and list goes on and on…… For a guy who just moved from Long Island to New York City to pursue a dream, this certainly was a dream come true. Within a few weeks, I was being reviewed by critics such as Rex Reed, Ernie Leogrande, and John Wilson. My career went from zero to hundred in a matter of months. I remained at Backstage from 1981 to 1983 at which point my agent offered me a tour in Scandinavia playing in major cities in Sweden and Denmark. I accepted and spent most of 1983 touring.

“I Remember You”

In 1984, I returned to New York City where I began a four-year engagement at Donald Trump’s, “Trumpets” in the Grand Hyatt Hotel. In 1988 my agent offered me a West Coast booking at the Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco. It began as an 8 week engagement which was increased to one year. I enjoyed living in San Francisco so much that I stayed! After the year was up at the Fairmont Hotel, I went on to the Palace Hotel where I led a quartet for 18 months for dinner dancing in the famous, Garden Court. While performing at the Garden Court, the Director of the Mark Hopkins Hotel asked me if I would like to lead a band at the Top of the Mark. Who could resist? I spent the next five years there as Entertainment Director leading the house band.

“One For My Baby”

In 2005, Bing Crosby’s of Walnut Creek, opened its doors and shortly after I was hired as Entertainment Director. I performed there nightly until 2007. A few months after I began at “Bing’s” I approached the owners and asked if they might be interested in co-producing a CD. They agreed and about three months later the project was completed. The CD, entitled, “A Sentimental Journey” represents a sample of my favorite “saloon-type” songs. Seth Asarnow, one of the very best pianists I have ever heard plays both piano and bass on many of the cuts on the recording. The entire project was a pleasure.

I am currently appearing at Round Hill Country Club in Alamo, CA.

“The Real Star” is one I wrote.

“You Won’t Be Satisfied Until You Break My Heart”

1 Comment

  1. I love that you did this at my request. Made me really smile. Thanks Paul. Can’t wait to see you in October…………..Love, Julie


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

