Edith Piaf

Edith Piaf (December 19, 1915 – October 11, 1963) was one of France’s most beloved singers, with much success shortly before and during World War II. Her music reflected her tragic life, with her specialty being the poignant ballad presented with a heartbreaking voice. The most famous songs performed by Piaf were La Vie en Rose (1946), Milord (1959), and Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien (1960).

She was born Édith Giovanna Gassion in Paris, France; her mother worked as a cafe singer and her father was a well-known travelling acrobat. Abandoned by her mother, she was raised by her paternal grandmother, who ran a brothel in Normandy. From age 3 to 7, she was blind. As part of Édith Piaf’s legend, she allegedly recovered her sight after her grandmother’s prostitutes went to a pilgrimage to Saint Thérèse de Lisieux. Later she lived for a while with her alcoholic father, whom she left by age 15 to become a street singer in Paris.

In 1935, Édith was discovered by the nightclub owner Louis Leplée whose club was frequented by the upper and lower classes alike. He convinced Édith to sing despite her extreme nervousness, and gave her the nickname that would stay with her for the rest of her life: La Mome Piaf (The Little Sparrow). From this she took her stage name. Her first record was produced in the same year. Shortly thereafter, Leplée was murdered and Piaf was accused of being an accessory; she was acquitted.

In 1940, Jean Cocteau wrote the successful play Le Bel Indifferent for her to star in. She began to make friends with famous people, such as the actor Maurice Chevalier and the poet Jacques Borgeat.

She wrote her signature song, La Vie en Rose, in the middle of the German occupation in World War II. During this time, she was in great demand and very successful. Singing for high-ranking Germans at the One Two Two Club earned Édith Piaf the right to pose for photos with French prisoners of war, ostensibly as a morale-boosting exercise. Once in possession of their celebrity photos, prisoners were able to cut out their own images and use them in forged papers as part of escape plans. Today, Édith Piaf’s association with the French Resistance is well known and many owe their lives to her. After the war, Édith toured Europe, the United States, and South America, becoming an internationally known figure.

She helped to launch the career of Charles Aznavour, taking him on tour with her in France and to the United States.

Piaf had one child, a daughter, Marcelle, who died at the age of two in 1935; the child’s father was Louis Dupont. The great love of Piaf’s life, the boxer Marcel Cerdan, died in 1949. Piaf was married twice. Her first husband was Jacques Pills, a singer; they married in 1952 and divorced in 1956. Her second husband, Theophanis Lamboukas (a.k.a. Théo Sarapo), was a 20-years-younger hairdresser turned singer and actor; they married in 1962.

The Paris Olympia is the place where Édith Piaf achieved fame and where, just a few months before her death, she gave one of her most memorable concerts while barely able to stand. In early 1963, Édith recorded her last song, L’homme de Berlin.

Piaf died of cancer in Cannes on October 11, 1963, the same day as her friend Jean Cocteau. She was buried in the Père Lachaise Cemetery, Paris. Although forbidden a Mass by the Roman Catholic archbishop of Paris (because of her lifestyle), her funeral procession drew hundreds of thousands of mourners onto the streets of Paris and the ceremony at the cemetery was jammed with more than forty thousand fans. Charles Aznavour recalled that Piaf’s funeral procession was the only time, since the end of World War II, that Parisian traffic came to a complete stop.

There is a museum dedicated to Piaf, the Musée Édith Piaf at 5, rue Crespin du Gast, 75011, Paris.

Today she is still remembered and revered as one of the greatest singers France has ever produced. Her life was one of sharp contrasts: the range of her fame as opposed to her tragic personal life, and her fragile small figure on stage with the resounding power of her voice.

Edith Piaf, live, singing, “Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien”

Recordings

1925
  • Comme un Moineau
1933
  • Entre Saint-Ouen et Clignancourt
1934
  • L’Étranger
1935
  • Mon Apéro
  • La Java de Cézigue
  • Fais-Moi Valser
1936
  • Les Mômes de la Clôche
  • J’Suis Mordue
  • Mon légionnaire
  • Le Contrebandier
  • La Fille et le Chien
  • La Julie Jolie
  • Va Danser
  • Chand d’Habits
  • Reste
  • Les Hiboux
  • Quand Même (from the movie “La Garçonne“)
  • La Petite Boutique
  • Y’Avait du Soleil
  • Il N’Est Pas Distingué
  • Les Deux Ménétriers
  • Mon Amant de la Coloniale
  • C’Est Toi le Plus Fort
  • Le Fanion de la Légion
  • J’Entends la Sirène
  • Ding, Din, Dong
  • Madeleine Qu’Avait du Cœur
  • Les Marins Ça Fait des Voyages
  • Simple Comme Bonjour
  • Le Mauvais Matelot
  • Celui Qui Ne Savait Pas Pleurer
1937
  • Le Grand Voyage du Pauvre Nègre
  • Un Jeune Homme Chantait
  • Tout Fout le Camp
  • Ne M’Écris Pas
  • Partance
  • Dans un Bouge du Vieux Port
  • Mon Cœur Est au Coin d’une Rue
1938
  • С’Est Lui Que Mon Cœur A Choisi
  • Paris-Méditerranée
  • La Java en Mineur
  • Browning
  • Le Chacal
  • Corrèqu’et Réguyer
1939
  • Y’En A un de Trop
  • Elle Fréquentait la Rue Pigalle
  • Le Petit Monsieur Triste
  • Les Deux Copains
  • Je N’En Connais Pas la Fin
1940
  • Embrasse-Moi
  • On Danse sur Ma Chanson
  • Sur une Colline
  • C’Est la Moindre des Choses
  • Escale
  • La Fille de Joie Est Triste (L’Accordéoniste)
1941
  • Où Sont-Ils, Mes Petits Copains?
  • C’Était un Jour de Fête
  • C’Est un Monsieur Très Distingué
  • J’Ai Dansé avec l’Amour (from the movie “Montmartre-sur-Seine“)
  • L’Homme des Bars
  • Le Vagabond
1942
  • Jimmy, C’Est Lui
  • Un Coin Tout Bleu (from the movie “Montmartre-sur-Seine“)
  • Sans Y Penser
  • Un Monsieur Me Suit dans la Rue
1943
  • Tu Es Partout (from the movie “Montmartre-sur-Seine“)
  • J’Ai Qu’à l’Regarder…
  • Le Chasseur de l’Hôtel
  • C’Était une Histoire d’Amour
  • Le Brun et le Blond
  • Monsieur Saint-Pierre
  • Coup de Grisou
  • De l’Autre Côté de la Rue
  • La Demoiselle du Cinqième
1944
  • Les Deux Rengaines
  • Y’A Pas d’Printemps
  • Les Histoires de Coeur
  • C’Est Toujours la Même Histoire
1945
  • Le Disque Usé
  • Elle A…
  • Regarde-Moi Toujours Comme Ça
  • Les Gars Qui Marchaient
  • Il Riait
  • Monsieur Ernest A Réussi
1946
  • La Vie en Rose
  • Les Trois Cloches (with Les Compagnons de la Chanson)
  • Dans Ma Rue
  • J’M’En Fous Pas Mal
  • C’Est Merveilleux
  • Adieu Mon Cœur
  • Le Chant du Pirate
  • Céline (with Les Compagnons de la Chanson)
  • Le Petit Homme
  • Le Roi A Fait Battre Tambour (with Les Compagnons de la Chanson)
  • Dans les Prisons de Nantes (with Les Compagnons de la Chanson)
  • Mariage
  • Un Refrain Courait dans la Rue
  • Miss Otis Regrets
1947
  • C’Est pour Ça (from the movie “Neuf Garçons, Un Cœur“)
  • Qu’As-Tu Fait John?
  • Sophie (from the movie “Neuf Garçons, Un Cœur“)
  • Le Geste
  • Si Tu Partais
  • Une Chanson à Trois Temps
  • Un Homme Comme les Autres
  • Les Cloches Sonnent
  • Johnny Fedora et Alice Blue Bonnet
  • Le Rideau Tombe Avant la Fin
  • Elle Avait Son Sourire
1948
  • Monsieur Lenoble
  • Les Amants de Paris
  • Il A Chanté
  • Les Vieux Bateaux
  • Il Pleut
  • Cousu de Fil Blanc
  • Amour du mois de Mai
  • Monsieur X
1949
  • Bal dans Ma Rue
  • Pour Moi Tout’ Seule
  • Pleure Pas
  • Le Prisonnier de la Tour (Si le Roi Savait Ça Isabelle)
  • L’Orgue des Amoureux
  • Dany
  • Paris (from the movie “L’Homme aux Mains d’Argile“)
  • Hymne à l’amour
1950
  • Hymne à l’amour
  • Le Chevalier de Paris
  • Il Fait Bon T’Aimer
  • La P’Tite Marie
  • Tous les Amoureux Chantent
  • Il Y Avait
  • C’Est d’la Faute à Tes Yeux
  • C’Est un Gars
  • Hymn to Love
  • The Three Bells
  • Le Ciel Est Fermé
  • La Fête Continue
  • Simply a Waltz
  • La Vie en Rose (English version)
1951
  • Padam… Padam…
  • Avant l’Heure
  • L’Homme Que J’aimerai
  • Du Matin Jusqu’au soir
  • Demain (Il Fera Jour)
  • C’Est Toi (with Eddie Constantine)
  • Rien de Rien
  • Si, Si, Si, Si (with Eddie Constantine)
  • À l’Enseigne de la Fille sans Cœur
  • Télégramme
  • Une Enfant
  • Plus Bleu Que Tes Yeux
  • Le Noël de la Rue
  • La Valse de l’Amour
  • La Rue aux Chansons
  • Jezebel
  • Chante-Moi (avec M.Jiteau)
  • Chanson de Catherine
  • Chanson Bleue
  • Je Hais les Dimanches
1952
  • Au Bal de la Chance
  • Elle A Dit
  • Notre-Dame de Paris
  • Mon Ami M’A Donné
  • Je T’Ai dans la Peau (from the movie “Boum sur Paris“)
  • Monsieur et Madame
  • Ça Gueule Ça, Madame (with Jacques Pills) (from the movie “Boum sur Paris“)
1953
  • Bravo pour le Clown
  • Sœur Anne
  • N’Y Va Pas Manuel
  • Les Amants de Venise
  • L’Effet Qu’Tu M’Fais
  • Johnny, Tu N’Es Pas un Ange
  • Jean et Martine
  • Et Moi…
  • Pour Qu’Elle Soit Jolie Ma Chanson (avec Jacques Pills) (from the movie “Boum sur Paris“)
  • Les Croix
  • Le Bel Indifférent
  • Heureuse
1954
  • La Goualante du Pauvre Jean
  • Enfin le Printemps
  • Retour
  • Mea Culpa
  • Le “Ça Ira” (from the movie “Si Versailles M’Était Conté“)
  • Avec Ce Soleil
  • L’Homme au Piano
  • Sérénade du Pavé (from the movie “French Cancan“)
  • Sous Le Ciel de Paris
1955
  • L’Accordéoniste
  • Un Grand Amour Qui S’Achève
  • Miséricorde
  • C’Est à Hambourg
  • Légende
  • Le Chemin des Forains
1956
  • Heaven Have Mercy
  • One Little Man
  • Autumn Leaves
  • ‘Cause I Love You
  • Chante-Moi (English)
  • Don’t Cry
  • I Shouldn’t Care
  • My Lost Melody
  • Avant Nous
  • Et Pourtant
  • Marie la Française
  • Les Amants d’un Jour
  • L’Homme à la Moto
  • Soudain une Vallée
  • Une Dame
  • Toi Qui Sais
1957
  • La Foule
  • Les Prisons du Roy
  • Opinion Publique
  • Salle d’Attente
  • Les Grognards
  • Comme Moi
1958
  • C’Est un Homme Terrible
  • Je Me Souviens d’une Chanson
  • Je Sais Comment
  • Tatave
  • Les Orgues de Barbarie
  • Eden Blues
  • Le Gitan et la Fille
  • Fais Comme Si
  • Le Ballet des Cœurs
  • Les Amants de Demain
  • Les Neiges de Finlande
  • Tant Qu’Il Y Aura des Jours
  • Un Étranger
  • Mon Manège à Moi
1959
1960
  • Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien
  • La Vie, l’Amour
  • Rue de Siam
  • Jean l’Espagnol
  • La Belle Histoire d’Amour
  • La Ville Inconnue
  • Non, La Vie N’Est Pas Triste
  • Kiosque à Journaux
  • Le Métro de Paris
  • Cri du Cœur
  • Les Blouses Blanches
  • Les Flons-Flons du Bal
  • Les Mots d’Amour
  • T’Es l’Homme Qu’Il Me Faut
  • Mon Dieu
  • Boulevard du Crime
  • C’Est l’Amour
  • Des Histoires
  • Ouragan
  • Je Suis à Toi
  • Les Amants Merveilleux
  • Je M’Imagine
  • Jérusalem
  • Le Vieux Piano
1961
  • C’Est Peut-Être Ça
  • Les Bleuets d’Azur
  • Quand Tu Dors
  • Mon Vieux Lucien
  • Le Dénicheur
  • J’N’Attends Plus Rien
  • J’En Ai Passé des Nuits
  • Exodus
  • Faut Pas Qu’Il Se Figure
  • Les Amants (avec Charles Dumont)
  • No Regrets
  • Le Billard Électrique
  • Marie-Trottoir
  • Qu’Il Était Triste Cet Anglais
  • Toujours Aimer
  • Mon Dieu (anglais)
  • Le Bruit des Villes
  • Dans Leur Baiser
1962
  • À Quoi Ça Sert L’Amour?
  • Le Droit d’Aimer
  • À Quoi Ça Sert L’Amour? (avec Théo Sarapo)
  • Fallait-Il
  • Une Valse
  • Inconnu Excepté de Dieu (avec Charles Dumont)
  • Quatorze Juillet
  • Les Amants de Teruel (avec Mikis Theodorakis/Jacques Plante)
  • Roulez Tambours
  • Musique à Tout Va
  • Le Rendez-Vous
  • Toi, Tu l’Entends Pas!
  • Carmen’s Story
  • On Cherche un Auguste
  • Ça Fait Drôle
  • Emporte-Moi
  • Polichinelle
  • Le Petit Brouillard (Un Petit Brouillard)
  • Le Diable de la Bastille
  • Elle Chantait (avec Théo Sarapo)
1963
  • C’Était Pas Moi
  • Le Chant d’Amour
  • Tiens, V’là un Marin
  • J’En Ai Tant Vu
  • Traqué
  • Les Gens
  • Margot Cœur Gros
  • Monsieur Incognito
  • Un Dimanche à Londres
  • L’Homme de Berlin (her last recording)

Her song Hymne à l’Amour inspired the movie Toutes Ces Belles Promesses by Jean-Paul Civeyrac. It was also translated into English as If You Love Me (Really Love Me) and covered by various artists including Shirley Bassey, Dorothy Squires and Kay Starr, who had a hit with it in 1954.

“Hymne a l’Amour”

Sources: edithpiaf.com, wikipedia, YouTube

2 Comments

  1. Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien as I view & review your blog. Hearing Ms Piaf sing this song always gives me goosebumps. C’est Magnifique. Merci, Paul!

  2. Cest trop beau! Edith et ses chansons enchantera toujours. Merci mon ami.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

